Artur Schnabel: No Place of Exile (2017)

Artur Schnabel: No Place of Exile (2017)
  • 8
  • Genre: Biography
  • Release year: 2017 ()
  • Running time: 52 min
  • Original Title: Artur Schnabel: No Place of Exile
  • Voted: 8

The exiled Austro-German musician and composer Artur Schnabel was a giant of his time, but in Germany today he is nearly forgotten. Pianist and Schnabel devotee Markus Pawlik (in collaboration with baritone Dietrich Henschel and the Szymanowski String Quartet) brings Artur Schnabel's greatest compositions back to Berlin with a filmed commemorative concert. Along the way, Pawlik visits the places, landscapes, and history that shaped Schnabel's life and music. "Artur Schnabel: No Place of Exile" rediscovers an essential artist displaced by the catastrophe of the two World Wars and the Holocaust and inspired by the possibilities of modernism.

1Rodolfo Augusto FaistauerArtur Schnabel
2Rodolfo Augusto FaistauerArtur Schnabel
3Julia FlueckigerTherese Behr Schnabel
4Julia FlueckigerTherese Behr Schnabel
5Arianna GremigniMary Virginia Foreman
6Arianna GremigniMary Virginia Foreman